Facebook! No! Should be narcissists united!

So many people posting look what I did, happy slap me on the back and give me a high-five! Tell me I’m awesome. Write how good I am and I will tell you how good you are and we can all be awesome on there!

Real life tells the real story. A hurting world hurts more as hurting people are ignored, because they are not going to inflate a Facebook narcissists ego by coming on it and high-five the person. A hurting person will not be on Facebook as they are going to feel worse by going onto Facebook and see Peoples lies about their over-exaggerated lives.

For instance:

My wife and I have the perfect marriage, we never argue look what she did for me today… Leaving out the argument they had because the toilet roll ran out ๐Ÿ™‚

My son is amazing look at him playing with his brother all smiling together… Leaving out the massive fight they had and the broken vase we are now trying to glue back together before mummy comes home.

My husband bought me this amazing necklace, isn’t he the best… Leaving out that three nights before he came stumbling drunk in the door hours after he was supposed to be home.

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and other social networking sites are contributing to our low self-worth and egos. I do have all of these as I have children, and they are also very good as I have family all around the world I can keep in touch with, read nosey at ๐Ÿ™‚ I do have to check myself sometimes if I am on them too much. It is not good for our mental health.

narcissist

This is the Season we celebrate Jesus coming to this world because it was full of selfish narcissistic people only out for their own over inflated ego. Read the Bible again of what Jesus did. When did he ask for praise from anyone? He did good things for the people who needed them. Not people who could broadcast how much he did. In fact the influential people of his time were pissed off with him because he ignored them and focused on the sick, prostitutes, children, and generally the sinners, diseased and outcasts.

I am going off Facebook for this season. It is easy for me to write this I know as I am BLESSED with an ego that is inflated when I do things for people in the background, in the back room, out of preying eyes, and it is only that person knows how much I helped them. They appreciate it more. I do not like praise. I know not everyone is like that, but for example do not pray on the street corner to be seen. Who are you then praying too? Jesus or your own ego? See Matthew 6 v. 5-6.

Narcissist 2

If this post annoys you I’m not sorry as that is your conscience poking you. Please take time to listen to it for your own health. I do not point fingers at anyone as if we walked a mile in each others shoes, we would see each other differently. As a counsellor I know for some people this may be their main source of praise, and people telling them they are super. This is a fake source though. How many people will like your Facebook post one day and the next time blatantly ignore it? What does this do to your self-worth and ego? Do something for someone this season that they cannot high-five your ego afterwards. See how it feels. To know inside your own heart that what you did for someone was amazing. You took time out of your life to put time and effort into someone else’s life.

For me if I get praise for helping a person it takes the shine off it. I prefer to get praise for being a helpful, caring person, meaning it is general praise, not getting praise for a particular person I may have helped. I know I have been called to be a counsellor, and I shall tell you why. I am an introvert, which I shall write about soon, as I can’t believe so many people struggle with their identity, simply because they do not know the difference in people’s personality, depending if they are introvert or extrovert. No-one is ever harder on me than myself. I get praise in my head when I do good, and questions of why when I do bad. Other people may think they need the praise from Facebook, but It is a sad world we live in that it has become so fake, so many smile at someone and tell them how good they are to their face and slag them off behind their back. No wonder some people cannot handle it any more and go bananas with someone, though never acceptable or justified.

Look out for each other. Look after yourselves. Be honest. Help someone today or tomorrow if you can.

I added this song for a moment of meditation. Listen to it and listen to yourself.

Stephen.

One thought on “Change Facebook to Narcissists united!

Leave a Reply

